Donegal Association AGM

Image of Martin McGettigan, President & Sorcha Ní Dhomhnaill, Chairperson
Martin McGettigan, President & Sorcha Ní Dhomhnaill, Chairperson

The Donegal Association Dublin held their Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 17th October in the Regency Hotel, Drumcondra. Despite the poor weather, there was a good attendance on the night. Sorcha Ní Dhomhnaill, Chairperson, welcomed everyone to the meeting and reviewed the Association highlights of 2012. This was the first year that there was a dual person of the year, Anne Marie Ward and the late Hugh Green. Unfortunately, Hugh Green passed away in July. He had said that the award of Donegal Person of the Year was the most special award he had received in his lifetime.

The current President, Tony Dunlevy’s term of office came to an end, so it was time to say goodbye and many many thanks to Tony for all his hard work and commitment during his four year term. Tony has worked tirelessly in his role as President for the Association. Martin Mc Gettigan was inaugurated as the new President and was presented with his chain of office at the AGM. Martin made an enthusiastic and inspiring speech and he displayed great ambition and pride in taking up this position. We wish Martin well in his new role.

The Donegal Association AGM also passed a motion to appoint two new positions to the Executive Committee, The Honorary IT Coordinator and the Honorary Assistant IT Coordinator. These positions will allow the association to embrace new technology such as social media, website improvements & other technical development areas.

Donegal Association Dublin - Association Committee:

President/Uachtarán: Martin Mc Gettigan (Kilmacrenan/ Raheny)

Vice President/Leas-Uachtarán: Hugh Harkin (Creeslough/Foxrock)

Chairperson/Cathaoirleach: Sorcha Ní Dhomhnaill (Gaoth Dobhair/Templeogue)

Vice Chairperson/Leas-Chathaoirleach: Joe Bonner (Glenties, Ashbourne)

Honorary Secretary/Rúnai Onórach: Hugh Mc Groddy (Falcarragh/Clonskeagh)

Honorary Assistant Secretary/Rúnaí Cúntach Onórach: Marian Caffrey (Kilmacrennan/ Ballsbridge)

Public Relations Office/Oifigeach Caidrimh Poiblí: Marie Ryan (Creeslough/Sandymount),

2 Honorary Treasurers/2 Chisteoir Oinigh: Charlie Mc Ginley (Annagry/Santry); Finín Mac A Bháird (Teelin/Kimmage)

Honorary Publications Officer/Oifigeach Foilsiúcháin Onórach: Niamh Walsh (Carrigart/ Phibsboro)

Honorary IT Co-Ordinator/Comhordaitheoir IT Onórach: Kevin Mc Laughlin (Malin Head/East Wall)

Honorary Assistant IT Co-Ordinator/Leas Chomhordaitheoir IT Onórach: Elaine Caffrey (Carrigart/Ringsend)

Trustees/Riarthóirí: Paul Shovlin, P J Spillane & Charlie Mc Ginley

Auditor/Iniúchóir: Eoin Mc Ginley & Co. (Annagry/Celbridge)

General Committee Members (7)/ Baill Ghinearálta denChumann (7):Kathleen Sheerin (Ardara/Raheny) Emmet Mc Cauley (Donegal Town/Ongar) Peter Coyle (Carndonagh/ Portmarnock) Peggy Stringer (Carndonagh/Monkstown) Siobhan Shovlin (Ardara/Glasnevin) Tony Dunlevy ( Mountcharles/ Swords) Ailbhe Nic Mhonagail (Falcarragh/Phibsboro)

Please find contact details below if you have any additional questions.

Chairperson: Sorcha Ní Dhomhnaill

087 9184072

Public Relations Officer: Marie Ryan 

087 2439317