Donegal Philly GAA

IMage of four men standing
Charlie McElwee, Bill McHugh, Jimmy Doherty, Manus O’Connor

Donegal Philadelphia Gaelic Football Club celebrated its twenty five year Anniversary in 2013. On May 4th, 2013, the Donegal club celebrated their twenty five year anniversary as a Gaelic Football club in the Philadelphia area. The 2013 Annual Award dinner dance not only honored the current team players but also payed special tribute to key supporters and past players from the last twenty five years.

In 1988 Eamon Cunningham (Ardara), Ivor Gallagher (Carrigart), Manus O'Connor (Downings), Patsy and Mickey Duddy (Churchill), John Flood (Termon) Jimmy Doherty (Carndonagh), Peggy and Charlie Murray (Killybegs) established the know well known Donegal Philadelphia Gaelic Football club. These dedicated folks worked together and formed the club that year at junior level. The club has grown over the years and know have three football teams (Senior; Junior and All-American) Over the last twenty five years the club has been extremely successful winning many Philadelphia Senior and Junior championships, three Senior North American Titles (1990,1992,1993),and a North American Intermediate championships (2004). The club also won the New York Senior Championship in 2007.

The club had a very successful year in 2012 with Louie Bradley (St. Eunans) and Aidan Corr (St. Galls) managing both the Senior and Junior teams to Philadelphia titles. Over the last twenty five years the club has continued its Donegal tradition with Louie Bradley, John McDaid, Bill McHugh (Letterkenny), Pat Bourke (Letterbarrow), Patsy Duddy (Churchill), Ciaran Porter (Raphoe) and John Flood (Termon).